Teaching the Basics

I mentioned in my last post that I had an upcoming craft sale/crochet workshop. This is the first time I’ve ever done something like this, and I only had a few weeks to prepare. After making lots (LOTS) of things for my stall I thought I was pretty much ready. Then  I suddenly realised that I needed something for the ladies to actually make! After putting together a quick basic crochet guide I was stumped. What could I try and help the ladies to make in a short period of time? Then it hit me! A simple bracelet! It had a small amount of stitches so would be a good first project. It was a smaller version of the headbands I was selling, so there was a sample for them to view. Best of all, the basic pattern pack that I had made had a simple flower pattern which they could make at home and embellish their project with. Perfect!

And I have to say, it was a bit of a success. No one finished their bracelet during the workshop, but many ladies were well on their way, and I hope they continued once they left. Unfortunately, a few thought crocheting was something that could be picked up easily, and after a few tries just gave up. Now, my workshop was part of a much bigger event, so I wasn’t insulted, it’s just a shame that some people won’t try if something seems a bit difficult. I certainly didn’t learn to crochet over night, and I don’t know anyone who did! However, most gave it a really good shot, and it was great to share my craft with others. I hope they continue, and I would certainly love to do it again.

913793_548011535250821_673150801_o BKAaFsRCcAAt99b

919567_548013141917327_347940026_o 967235_548010561917585_491870712_o

Some pictures of my stall as I was setting up (above) and teaching the ladies (below)

One thought on “Teaching the Basics

  1. Pingback: A lovely Weekend Workshop | Life in the Thrift Lane

Leave a Reply

