Thrifty new bag

I have always wanted to try patchwork. I really want to make a patchwork quilt out of my daughter’s baby clothes. I don’t want this to be my first attempt though, as chances are I will end up ruining them. I couldn’t decided what to make for a practice run, so the idea was abandoned in favour of a million other projects.

A couple of weeks ago a friend of ours came to visit. This particular friend works for a high end upholstery company, so imagine my delight when he gave me a bag of samples and off cuts. Yay, free fabric. There were lots of little bits in different colour ways, but I already knew what I would do with some of it. I made a patchwork knitting bag. I used a bed sheet that didn’t quite fit the bed for the lining, and the handles came free with a knitting magazine around four years ago. The whole thing cost me nothing at all. Except perhaps, the tips of my fingers. Hand sewing such thick fabric has left me with more than a couple of blisters. All in all I’m pretty pleased with how it’s turned out. Now on to the next one!

The more discerning among you will notice there are still some tacking stitches in the bag. I’m sure I’ll get round to that tomorrow….

2 thoughts on “Thrifty new bag

Leave a Reply

