I may have a problem….part one

I am always crafting. I don’t mean that in a jokey way. I am ALWAYS crafting. I keep a WIP in my bedside table in case I wake up in the night and can’t get back to sleep. This morning at was sat at my sewing machine at 6.30 because everyone else was asleep and I had an opportunity to get something finished. I can’t help it, it’s like an addiction. However, because I make SO MANY things, inevitably more than a few things get left behind. Now I’m sure every crafter has a couple of long term projects in the back of cupboards, but I seem to compulsively start projects and never finish them. This week I finished three projects that I had been meaning to do, the bag from my previous post, my next project post, and a lovely hat, cos I don’t have a hat. This got me thinking about all the things I need to finish, so to shame myself into doing something about it, I shall list them here. Just to add insult to injury, there are so many that I have to split them over two posts. Oh boy….

Starting with the abandoned knitting projects:

WP_20130527_006

I started this cardigan 4 years ago. I took it to the Isle of Wight and forgot one of the colours. It’s been in the back of the cupboard ever since. If you can see all of the ends that need weaving in, you can probably guess it will be there a little longer. It’s only missing the two front pieces and button band.

WP_20130527_003

I was bought this sock yarn as a present for my birthday. Two years later I started these socks as an easy project whilst I was pregnant with my daughter. She is two in a month.

WP_20130527_001

I found the pattern for this thrifty shawl in one of my long forgotten knitting books. It hasn’t been on the needles that long, perhaps a year, but I wouldn’t really say I’m ‘using up’ any of that wool. More just storing it.

WP_20130601_010

I fear this beautiful snood may never be finished. I saw the pattern in the back of a knitting magazine and instantly bought it. I went to choose some wool and just assumed all sock yarn could replace lace weight yarn. Turns out that’s not the case, especially with Noro Silk Garden it would seem. You live you learn. I’m unsure what to do with this one. I don’t want to unravel it as it represents some hard work, but I’m a bit too scared to carry on. It’s been on the needles for three years.

Now my sewing projects are a different matter. I tend to hit the sewing machine when I can and get loads done in one sitting. This usually means, however, that there is a large pile of ‘ideas’ sitting by it waiting to be made into something less resembling a heap. This is the current state of the ‘ideas basket’

WP_20130602_011

You’d think that would keep me busy. Probably not. I’m sure I’ll start something else next week. I’d like to think that sharing these would motivate me in some way. Of course this isn’t all of it. There is still all of my unfinished crocheting….

4 thoughts on “I may have a problem….part one

  1. Well done on at least finishing 3 projects. I think many of us have multiple projects on the go so if we’re in a knitting mood there is always something to go on with or if we only have 5 minutes of sewing time we can pick something up quick and just do it. Personally I know I will never get all the ideas made that are in my head cause I have enough to last several life times!!

Leave a Reply

