The Napkin Project

A while back I came across a post on A year without supermarkets blog about the napkin project. They were asking for people to embroider a napkin with an idea of what home means to you, and these would be presented to Saffron Gardens, a dementia care home in Bristol.  The idea is that a creative environment can stimulate and encourage creativity in those suffering from dementia. Dementia runs in my family and I saw at a young age how it took hold of both my Grandmother and Great-Grandmother. My Grandmother bought me my first embroidery kit, so this is a project I felt that I really needed to be a part of. My Husband-To-Be helped me plan the design, as I wanted it to represent all of us as a family, and here it is…

WP_20130812_001

WP_20130812_005

This corner represents me and my love of crafts. Incidentally, if anyone finds yarn in this colourway could you please let me know?

WP_20130812_007

This corner represents my wonderful better half and his thriving allotment

WP_20130812_008

And this is our 2 year old daughters’ hand print.

It was actually quite difficult to give this away, but I know it’s for an amazing cause that I’m really proud to say I’m a part of. I think I might make another just for us though.

6 thoughts on “The Napkin Project

  1. A beautiful tribute to your family, that will enable other people’s family members to share in their own way – and making your own copy is a lovely idea! Maybe with your story to go with it so it lives on through future generations. Well done x

Leave a Reply

