And Now For Something Completely Different

This blog focuses quite heavily on my various craft projects. That is all I write about in fact. There is something else I would like to share with you though, and that is my love of thriftiness in the kitchen. I like to try and make a meal from nothing, or from the cheapest ingredients I can find. Having an allotment definitely helps. We have things like potatoes, onions, courgettes and sweetcorn in abundance, but I also like the challenge of looking around the kitchen and making a meal out of whatever I can find. Above all, I hate food waste. We throw away a ridiculous amount of perfectly edible food in this country. With this in mind, I found myself looking at a rather large bag of eating apples this morning. We had been given them by the in laws and they were beginning to look rather sorry for themselves. But what to do with apples? I have many crumbles in the freezer, we’ve only just had apple muffins, there is apple sauce in the cupboard…

The inspiration came when I least expected it. I had asked for a slow cooker as a wedding present. Not an ideal present for some I grant you, but after a couple of weeks I couldn’t be without it. It make tea times with a toddler an absolute dream. I was searching for such a tea time recipe when I stumbled across a recipe for apple butter. I had never heard of this before but it was described as being an apple spread that could be used on anything, so I gave it a go and it is absolutely delicious, and incredibly easy. If you have a slow cooker, definitely try it, if not, I’m sure it can be made on the hob

Apple butter recipe:

1kg of apples

1 cup of caster sugar

1 tsp of cinnamon

1/4 tsp of salt

Peel, core and chop the apples, put all of the ingredients in to the slow cooker on high for 4-6 hours. Stir every half an hour to avoid burning. Half way through the cooking time use a stick blender to blend the apples til smooth. When it is cooked it should be golden brown and a spreadable consistency. It can then be stored n the fridge for a couple of weeks or frozen. I suggest eating it on toast. It’s really delicious!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

