Sometimes it is better to give than to receive

 

I love shopping in charity shops. We live in a small town, so I always do the same circuit of the same charity shops, saying hello to the same volunteers, and hunting through the same shelves and racks for that hidden bargain. It’s a brilliant feeling when you’ve searched through everything and right at that back you find something that you absolutely need, and it’s an absolute bargain! 

Leading up to our wedding I did this a lot to find little gems to include in the decorations, but nine times out of ten I just added to my ever growing collection of Pyrex. Some people in the realms of social networking know all too well about my Pyrex obsession, but that’s a post for another day. Needless to say I soon acquired too much, and after the wedding we needed a sort out. It was a surprisingly painful task for me and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I don’t like to be parted with my treasures. Regardless, we sorted through everything and took A LOT of things to the charity shop I go to most, Scope.

A few days later I was walking up our road and something in someone’s window caught my eye. Someone had bought one of my donations, a large hand carved wooden skull I had affectionately named Gerald. It was a strange sensation seeing something that was mine in someone else’s house. I had gotten him from my parents for my 18th birthday and he held a lot of sentimental value. Then I realised something, I had taken an item that had sat on a shelf  forgotten about, and given another person the thrill of finding treasure. They had bought Gerald and they were so pleased with their find that they’ve put him pride of place in their front window for everyone to see. It was a wonderful feeling and made me think about donating more often. I’m sure there’s plenty more forgotten items in our house that could someone else this kind of happiness.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes it is better to give than to receive

  1. I absolutely LOVE charity shops! Haven’t been much this year, things have been kind of crazy. I love them on two levels, one, they save money and two, they recycle goods instead of sending them to the tip. I feel really virtuous when I buy secondhand!

Leave a Reply

