Craft Fair Musings

So I have just got back from my first proper craft fair. I did a small one at the beginning of the year, but it was tacked on to a crochet workshop I did, so it didn’t really count.

I had been preparing for this craft fair for a month. I didn’t get much notice about the fair, but luckily I had made some things already for an event next month. Problem was, I didn’t know when to stop making. What if everyone wanted the same thing and there wasn’t enough? What if I only made a small selection of things and no one wanted them? What if? This was a big gamble, as I had to pay for the table. What if I didn’t make enough money to cover the cost? Also, I didn’t know who else was going to be there. It was a small event at a local school. What if there was only one other person there, and they were selling the same thing as me, but better, and cheaper? What if, what if, what if?

So I went crazy, making a little of this and a little of that until I had a huge box full of stuff. With a belly full of butterflies I took this box into the school hall this afternoon and set up. I also took a little notebook with me, to try and make sense of what people shopping at these events REALLY want.

stall

I apologise for the picture quality, I had to be rather surreptitious…

Turned out I made much more than I needed, and my obsessive list making only revealed that people wanted to buy a little bit of everything. I did fairly well for a small fair, and after an interesting afternoon I found that I was glad I took the plunge and I’m looking forward to the next one.

 

2 thoughts on “Craft Fair Musings

Leave a Reply

