Fried Green Tomatoes at The Whistle Stop Cafe

Ninny Threadgoode: “Oh, what I wouldn’t give for a plate of fried green tomatoes like we used to have at the cafe. Ooh!”

We still have loads of tomatoes. I stripped the plants and tried to get them to ripen, and lots have, but there are still a quite a few green ones. I made chutney last year but it was God awful, and we already have three litres of apple chutney so far this year. Everyone I spoke to told me to try fried green tomatoes. I have faint memories of watching Fried Green Tomatoes at The Whistle Stop Cafe  as a child with my mum, and perhaps this swayed me to give the recipe a try.

fried green tomatoes

Goodness me, am I glad we did. They are amazingly tasty, suprisingly so. Like onion rings, but with more substance and less grease. They made the perfect accompaniment to the pulled pork and homemade coleslaw I said I was making in yesterdays post. Better still, I didn’t need to get anything extra to make them, I just used store cupboard ingredients. The recipe I used called for ground polenta, but I didn’t have this. I found some oaty crisps at the back of the cupboard that the toddler didn’t like and ground these up instead. I don’t know if it was a good substitute, but it certainly tasted amazing.

The recipe:

Ingredients

  • Green tomatoes, ours were quite small, but the idea is to cut them quite thickly
  • Flour
  • Polenta, or a substitute such as bread crumbs
  • 1 large egg, or two smaller
  • Milk
  • Salt and pepper
  • Oil

Method

  • Mix the egg and a couple of tbs of milk in a bowl; on a plate mix the flour, polenta (or whatever you have) and seasoning.
  • Pour enough oil into the pan to be around half an inch deep. The oil needs to be hot, but not too hot. If it spits when you add the tomatoes then it is too hot and needs turning down a little. They can burn really quickly.
  • Dip your sliced tomatoes first into the egg and milk mixture, and then coat them in the flour mixture. Put the coated tomatoes into to the pan and cook until golden on both sides. You may have to do them in batches as the tomatoes should not touch whilst cooking.
  • Remove tomatoes from the pan and drain on a cooling rack. They become soggy quickly so it’s best not to stack them.
  • Enjoy immediately as an accompaniment to a meal or just with some garlic mayonnaise

I hope you enjoy them as much as we did, we’ll certainly be having them again!

4 thoughts on “Fried Green Tomatoes at The Whistle Stop Cafe

  1. Pingback: Chicken Rapini & Peppers with Polenta | LauraLovingLife

  2. Pingback: Fresh Tomatoes for Winter | The Art & Science of Gardening

Leave a Reply

