Why I decided to let myself go grey – aged 27

Kate Middleton debuted her new hair do earlier today

I have been thinking about writing this article for a while, but with Kate Middleton’s latest ‘flaw‘ making the headlines, I thought now was as good as time as any. Apparently her new hairstyle has revealed she is going grey. Like an actual human being. Shocking!

Today is my 27th birthday. I have made my mind up in the last few weeks that I am no longer going to battle against my hair. My mind wanders back to a few months ago, on the day of our wedding. I was having my hair done and the hairdresser commented that I should have gone a few weeks ago to ‘have my roots done’. The very thought made me shudder.

I’ve known for a very long time I would go grey early. It runs in our family. I was often told as a child how my Granddad turned completely white overnight at 40, though I doubt the truth of this a little. My Uncle went completely grey at 22, and my sister started to go grey at 18. To be honest, I didn’t think I’d get to the age I did. I have dyed my hair different colours for years, so it might have started a little earlier, but since having the toddler I haven’t had the time, effort, or money to keep dying it, and slowly but surely a little patch to the right of my parting has started to go white. Not grey. White.

So I sat in the hairdresser’s chair thinking about whether I really should have had it dyed. You couldn’t really see it because it’s underneath the rest of the hair. It was then I realised I wasn’t bothered if you could see it or not. It didn’t bother me, it hadn’t bothered me up til that point, so why would it bother me now. So, why continue to dye it at all?

Fairly drastic decision I know. Of course, I may look ridiculous in a few months and end up dying it ‘sympathetically’, but honestly, I really don’t think I’ll bother. All I can think of is that I will end up as one of those 70 year old women that can’t let go, and dye their hair jet black every other week. Or maybe I’ll look like the end of Death Becomes Her, all taped up with a painted on face and stuck on hair. I just don’t want that. Partly because I want to grow old with grace, but mainly because I’m REALLY lazy! I can’t be bothered with beauty stuff at the best of times, so the thought of dying my hair every few weeks from now until forever to maintain the illusion that I’ve defied nature doesn’t really sound appealing to me. And then when you start thinking of the cost…

So here is my plan, my hair can do what it likes. When I was really little, I always said when I got old I would like a white stripe at the front like the woman from The Fashion Show (for those who remember, her name escapes me). It looks like that particular wish might be coming true. Hopefully it will eventually go all nice and white, and then I can start to have awesome pastel rinses. How cool will that be? Well…, maybe in a few years 🙂

P.S. To be fair, I wouldn’t mind looking a bit like Meryl Streep and Goldie Hawn at that age 🙂

11 thoughts on “Why I decided to let myself go grey – aged 27

  1. I’m nearly 27 too and have a similar family history of early greying (grandma started at 15). As a teenager I always said I’d whip out the dye as soon as I spotted the first grey hair. But now that my first platinum hairs have made their appearance, I find that I quite like them and even get annoyed when well-meaning people offer to pull them out.
    Three cheers for growing old gracefully/laziness!

  2. My hubby is right there with you. When we wed five plus year ago, above both ears he was seriously grey… Now it’s migrating everywhere. He’s 32 now and I think it’s neat. Save your money! Natural is best!

  3. At least you still HAVE hair to grow grey, my ex husband is battling a war against the hair fairy. She has been taking a few strands a night ever since he turned 20 and she is MOST meticulous about never missing a night ;).

  4. We all go grey at different ages. I’m 39, and have just noticed my first 2 white hairs. I’m a red head, so we tend to go white rather than grey. I don’t know why people are o afraid of going grey, it’s just one of those things that happens, and we can’t stop it. Ok dye your hair if you want to, but me, I’m going to go white gracefully. I will miss my auburn hair when it goes, but I’ve had fun with it.

  5. Pingback: On a light note | Cool lady blog

Leave a Reply

