Easy peasy cheese straw recipe

We went out for the day at the weekend. We decided to take the toddler to a local ‘amusement park’ type affairs that caters for little ones.  It’s called Twinlakes, if you’re in the area with toddlers I suggest you check it out.

Anyway, we decided on coming home before lunch, as they are pretty busy and really just serve chips. Delayed lunch means plenty of snacks, so on the spur of the moment I decided to make something I had been meaning to do for a couple of days – cheese straws.

With an hour to spare before we left, I got myself in the kitchen and knocked up a batch, and they were pretty delicious.  So, here is how I did it…

You will need:

  • Sheet of puff pastry
  • Hard strong cheese
  • One egg
  • Marmite (optional)

WP_20131117_001

First of all I got a sheet of pre made puff pastry.  Life is too short to make your own puff pastry!  I cut it in half and brushed one side with beaten egg.  On the other side I made a watered down Marmite mixture that I could spread (we LOVE Marmite, but this is entirely optional) and brushed this on.  I then scattered cheese all over the Marmite mixture.

WP_20131117_005

Taking the side covered in egg, lay it careful over the other half egg side down. Then lightly go over with a rolling pin to press them together.

WP_20131117_007

Cut the pastry into thin strips.  The width is up to you, I judged it by eye.  Bear in mind that they will grow in the oven.

WP_20131117_008 WP_20131117_010

Take each strip and twist it by turning the two ends in opposite directions. Lay on a greased baking tray and brush with a little more of the egg.  Cook at gas mark 6 until golden (I didn’t time it, sorry).

And here is the toddler enjoying the final product. Really tasty and simple to make, and cheap too! Yay!

WP_20131117_023

5 thoughts on “Easy peasy cheese straw recipe

  1. The only thing that I would sub here is vegemite or Korean Ssamjang paste for the marmite which I was never quite able to develop a taste for even though my nan tried to get us all to eat it 😉

  2. Cheese straws are brilliant. I used to work in a bakery, and the smell of them when they came out of the oven was out of this world. Put some Palma ham in them as well, it makes them really good.

Leave a Reply

