How to crochet a flat circle

I have been busy making Christmas presents the last few days, and this has meant finding ingenious ways to use up my yarn stash and not spend any money. Amongst other things, I have been making small crocheted baskets. By using 3 strands of DK yarn together, I have been able to use up loads of oddments, and they took no time at all!

A few people have said to me that they want to learn to crochet. but they don’t know where to start. I thought I would share with you how to crochet a basic flat circle. This is the basis for an awful lot of patterns and it’s a useful thing to know.

WP_20131120_024

First I chose my three yarns, and an 8mm hook. It’s a little small for the wool, but it makes a nice dense fabric that is quite sturdy.

WP_20131120_027 WP_20131120_028

WP_20131120_031 WP_20131120_032

I make a magic loop, as seen above, to start, but you could just chain 3 and slip stitch to make a circle. Then you need to chain three, which counts as your first treble.

WP_20131120_033 WP_20131120_037 WP_20131120_038

Treble 11 times in to the loop, so there are 12 stitches including the chain 3.

WP_20131120_040 WP_20131120_041

Pull the loose tail to close the circle, and slip stitch in the top of the chain 3 to finish the first round.

WP_20131120_042 WP_20131120_043

Chain 3 and then treble in the bottom of the same stitch. Treble two times in every stitch and the slip stitch into the top of the treble 3. There should be 24 stitches.

WP_20131120_044

Chain 3 and treble into the bottom of the same stitch. Treble in the next stitch, and two trebles in the next all the way around. Slip stitch in the top of the treble three to close the round. There should 36 stitches.

This is as big as the circle needs to be for the baskets I made, but if you carry on increasing in this way you can make the circle as big as you want. The next round would be 2 trebles and then 2 treble in the next stitch, and then the next one would be 3 trebles and then 2 trebles in the next stitch etc. You can use this method to make anything from coasters to rugs.

Tomorrow I will share with you how to turn this into a basket. Until then, I best get my head down and finish these presents!

This blog entry is my submission to the Deramores Blog Awards 2014. Deramores is the UK’s number one online retailer of knitting and crochet supplies. www.deramores.com/blog-awards

One thought on “How to crochet a flat circle

  1. Lubbly jubbly…I am the granny square queen and don’t think I have ever tried making a flat circle! Gotta try this now and cheers for the idea about the “magic circle” hopefully I don’t stuff it up!

Leave a Reply

