Handmade Advent

advent

Just a quick post today. We dug out the Christmas decorations yesterday and decked the halls. Last year I made the toddler an advent calendar out of all the scrap bits of felt I had kicking around and my brand new sewing machine. I was under the impression that it was a bit rough around the edges, but was the best I could manage at the time. I was considering making another this year, but we have even less money now.

I took it out of the box yesterday and put a little chocolate in each pocket and took it down stairs. When I showed it to the toddler I realised that it was just perfect. It may look a little too handmade, but she couldn’t be happier with it.  Bit of a lesson for me there as I squirrel away at more home made gifts. A gift doesn’t need to look shop bought for someone to appreciate it.

2 thoughts on “Handmade Advent

  1. About 6 years ago, I made my two an advent calendar each out of an old cereal box, some match boxes, felt, material and glitter. They’re still using them now, they look a bit tired, but still in good shape. Your one looks beautiful, and I’m sure it’ll last for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

