Garden exploration

It’s been drizzly and cold and windy for weeks, so when the sun started shining yesterday, the toddler and I seized the opportunity to run out into the garden and have a look around.

Before the toddler came along, I used to spend 20 hours or more working in the garden every week. We took a real mess of an over grown garden and made a lovely place to sit and enjoy. Since Amelia came along it has been harder and harder to get out and actually do some work out there. This was the state of the garden.

WP_20140115_016

I have to say, it’s not as bad as I thought, but it’s by no means in good condition. It’s had one tidy up since the height of summer. I’ve only just removed the carcasses of the towering cosmos  plants. They were against the fence on the left hand side and they were taller than me!

WP_20140115_014 WP_20140115_015

The first order of business was some bouncing. Incidentally, if anyone has any tips on how to clean one of these trampolines up I would be most grateful, it’s been left to the elements and it’s a real mess.

Whilst she jumped to her hearts content, I had a little wander around, and discovered that the garden is doing just fine without me. After brushing aside some leaves I saw signs of life popping up all over the place.

WP_20140115_002 WP_20140115_003 WP_20140115_004

Surprisingly though, as well as some new friends, some of the old ones are still holding their own. I’ve got a bud on the roses,

WP_20140115_006

Probably something to do with these guys watching over them. They were a wedding present from our best friend

WP_20140115_007 WP_20140115_008

And the ‘tender’ fuchsias (which I had forgotten to take in, and have suffered through a couple of hard frosts) are still flowering nicely.

WP_20140115_009 WP_20140115_012 WP_20140115_013

Perhaps all that effort I put in to the garden has paid off, but we’re still to have the worst of the weather, so I’ll probably have to do a little more work yet. If anyone has any tips on protecting outdoor tender climbers I’d love to hear them. I have a jasmine and passion fruit that can’t really be moved in and I haven’t had a great success with fleece before. I’m thinking of using bubble wrap, but I’m wiling to take other suggestions!

5 thoughts on “Garden exploration

  1. Don’t wrap plants in bubble wrap – they need to breathe and it won’t let them. The condensation that will build up inside the bubble wrap cover could start them rotting. You can wrap the containers plants are in with bubble wrap to protect the containers/roots but just bring the wrap over the lip of the container and poke it down into the compost around the edge.

    Have you been using single layers of fleece? You might try using 2 or 3 layers. I guess that wrapping the plants in straw held in place with netting won’t be practical given their size.

    You may find this link useful: http://apps.rhs.org.uk/advicesearch/profile.aspx?PID=275

    • Thank you for the link. It was the pots I was going to bubble wrap. I kept them in the pots so I could protect the roots, but the fleece has just been left in tatters in the past. They’re not massive, so the straw might be ok this year. I haven’t heard that before, thank you 🙂

  2. All gardens look a bit uninviting at this time of year, but Spring will soon be here, and the weather will hopefully warm up enough for the soil to start drying out. Not sure about those gnomes though, I think they might give me nightmares.

  3. Glad to see your plants are surviving. I can’t wait to see your upcoming posts as your garden progresses. Love the gnomes!

Leave a Reply

