Easy I-cord Necklace DIY

I am still looking for ways to use up my yarn, and I recently made this necklace from a pattern in Molly Makes

WP_20131107_030

It was a little tight for me, so I think I went a little bit wrong somewhere, but I liked the effect of using knitted i-cords. I decided to make my own pattern up.

WP_20131107_025 WP_20131107_024

First of all, to make an i-cord cast on 4 stitches on to double pointed needles and knit across. Instead of turning your work as usual, push the stitches back to the top of the needle and knit across again. The yarn will go behind the stitches, and as you work it will pull the stitches together at the back creating one continuous cord.

To make the necklace I made three of these cords, each 60 cms long. I sewed them together at one end and plaited them. When I reached the other end I sewed them together to secure them. I picked up 8 stitches at one end

row 1 knit across

row 2 purl

row 3 knit 1, knit 2 tog, knit 2, knit 2 tog, knit 1 (6 stitches)

row 4 purl

row 5 knit 1, knit 2 tog, knit 2 tog, knit 1 (4 stitches)

row 6 purl

Now you are down to four stitches start making an i-cord again until it’s long enough to go round your neck. When it’s long enough, increase the stitches in the same way you decreased them and then cast off. Sew the cast off edge to the other side of the plait, being careful not to twist the i-cord. Weave in the ends.

WP_20140121_013

I knitted this from a bit of variegated oddment I had left over, the colours worked pretty well! It could be easily done using several different yarns though for the same effect.

This blog entry is my submission to the Deramores Blog Awards 2014. Deramores is the UK’s number one online retailer of knitting and crochet supplies. www.deramores.com/blog-awards

3 thoughts on “Easy I-cord Necklace DIY

Leave a Reply

