Still trying to use up yarn, but…

So, I’m still slugging away trying to use up all my yarn. I finished my brightly coloured blanket, but still had some colours left, so I’m trying out Bavarian crochet, a pattern also known as the yarn eater, as it uses up so much. Don’t know what I’m making yet, I’ll  just keep going until I run out I suppose.

WP_20140209_003

I’m also making myself a pair of fair isle My neighbour Totoro mittens, which are using up a couple of balls. I finished one mitten, but as it’s my first attempt at this kind of colour work, the thought of following two intense charts at the same time with a toddler hanging off me makes me want to cry. I will make the other, I just want a rest!

WP_20140220_007 WP_20140220_008

And, as always seem to happen when I use up some yarn, I was promptly given some more. This time, I won a competition in the magazine Simply Crochet, and I was sent a box with a whopping 26 balls of chunky wool in it! On closer inspection, I discovered there were only 22 balls of wool, and being the massively ungrateful person that I am (I still feel guilty) I informed the magazine that they had sent me four less balls than they were supposed to. As soon as I sent the message I felt bad, and they were well within their rights to ignore me, but this next day this turned up

WP_20140221_009

I feel even more guilty, as I’m using 7 balls of it to knit a big comfy jumper, not crochet the patterns that the yarn was meant for. I will crochet at least one of those patterns, mainly because I feel so bad about it!

3 thoughts on “Still trying to use up yarn, but…

Leave a Reply

