DIY Toddler Leggings

My favourite cheap jumper shrunk in the wash one too many times. I love the colours and the mock fair isle pattern, so it seemed such a waste to throw it away. I had a search through all of my magazines and books and I couldn’t find a tutorial that would use it. We went out shopping and I saw some lovely little Fair Isle leggings for the toddler. Then it hit me, I would make some from my jumper. I had seen adults do it with extra large jumpers, so I would do a mini version.

WP_20140304_009 WP_20140304_010

I took my jumper and cut off the sleeves. Then I used some leggings she already has as a template to see how far down to cut the gusset.

WP_20140304_012 WP_20140304_013

I sewed the gusset together and almost had a pair of trousers, just needed a way of keeping them up.

WP_20140304_015 WP_20140304_018

I sewed the original collar to the top of the trousers so I had a little more material to work with. I took a piece of elastic and measured it around the toddler’s waste. Then I folded over the top of the trousers, creating a channel that’s wide enough to fit the elastic through. I pinned and stitched it, leaving a 2 inch gap. I then fed the elastic through using a safety pin and stitched it together. Then I stitched the opening closed. Ta dah! Free trousers!!!

WP_20140304_021

She doesn’t sit still for long, so this was the best picture I could get, straight from the machine! But what happened to the rest of the jumper…..?

4 thoughts on “DIY Toddler Leggings

  1. Pingback: My DIY skirt | Life in the Thrift Lane

Leave a Reply

