My DIY skirt

I’ve been glued to the telly for weeks watching the Great British Sewing Bee. If you don’t know what this is, it is a program where amateur sewers make 3 garments every week which are judged on fit, technical skill and creativity. One is voted off every week until eventually one is crowned Britain’s best amateur sewer. 

Pretty much everyone one I know has been bitten by the sewing bug because of this programme, much in the same way every one was trying to make bread and macaroons after watching The Great British Bake Off. I do use my sewing machine fairly regularly, but I’ve never made myself something to wear. I have a few patterns, but the amount of fabric needed for a garment could be quite expensive, and I don’t want to spend all that money to then mess it up!

I was making Amelia something simple with an elasticated waist, and realised I could do something very similar for myself. I dug out a half metre of fabric that I had bought from the wonderful Little Fabric Shop for an absolute bargain price, and I sat down at the sewing machine.

First of all I hemmed the fabric. It has a tiny hem, as there really isn’t much material to work with! Then I sewed the two short sides together to make a tube. I folded the edge that I hadn’t hemmed over, and made a channel that was a little wider than the elastic I was using, in the same way I did when I made the toddler’s leggings, leaving a gap of around two inches unsewn, so I could feed the elastic through. I measured the elastic around my waist, and fed it through the channel using a safety pin. I sewed the ends of the elastic together and sewed the hole shut. The whole thing took around 20 minutes from start to finish, I used no measurements and certainly no skill, but I was left with a skirt I’m pretty pleased with!

WP_20140309_003

5 thoughts on “My DIY skirt

Leave a Reply

