I’m back!

You may have noticed that we haven’t posted any blog posts in a while. Well, I (Danielle that is) have been in the wars a little bit. I was suffering with toothache, which led to an emergency root canal. Two days later I was sent to hospital with suspected appendicitis. I was sent home a couple of days later, after which I had the rest of my root canal treatment. As if this wasn’t enough, I was taken by to hospital two days later and had my appendix removed during a routine camera procedure. Turns out it was appendicitis. I had open surgery, so it took a little longer to recover than the normal key hole surgery. Of course, during all this, Jamie was left making sure the toddler was OK and looked after, whilst also juggling work and coming to see me. It’s been tough. I’m finally starting to feel myself again after a few weeks recovering, I’m still exhausted, but at least I can get on with normal daily tasks again!

The first time I was sent to hospital I thought I’d be sent straight home, so I only packed my crochet. I was there for three days, so I had to have basics brought to me, but at least I wasn’t bored!

WP_20140403_001

This is a cardigan I was making out of scrap 4 ply I had kicking around, which I finished when I got home

WP_20140407_006 WP_20140407_007 WP_20140407_005

The second time I went in I was a little more sensible about what I took with me. By that I mean that I took two projects! I tried finish my socks, but I lost one of my needles, and the nurses didn’t seem quite as concerned as I was! Whilst I didn’t get much of my socks done, I did start this shawl with some beautiful hand dyed, hand spun yarn.

WP_20140411_001

And of course, as I had access to my phone and A LOT of time on my hands, I ended up ‘treating’ myself to some new wool. Well, I think I deserved it after all that, don’t you?

9 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. oh my goodness, you sure do deserve some yarn, and yoru husband deserves whatever it is he likes to collect! It sounds like you are really doing better, after a long and crazy time. Be sure to give yourself permission to not feel 100% for a long time. Our bodies take longer than we think to get back to ‘normal”. Awfully glad they caught that appendix in time…

Leave a Reply

