Freegan Treasure – what a find!

I’ve not written a blog post in an awfully long time! You see, we’re trying to buy a house, and as I sure you’re well aware, it is the single most stressful thing ever. We seem to be paying various people lots of money, and I’m doing all their work for them! Anyhoo, we’ve also been super busy sifting through all our rubbish and clearing it out. 

Now, I’m a bit of a hoarder. No where near my parents standards mind, but I do struggle to get rid of things I consider useful. However, I promised Jamie that if we were excepted for a mortgage I would clear out some of my stuff, and that I did. Over a few weeks I managed to find around 20 bin bags worth of things for donation and the recycling centre. Problem is, you can’t really tell it’s gone. Not that we have stuff piled up everywhere, as our house is as tidy as it can be with a toddler. More that I had hidden the extent of my hoarding in storage around the house, cupboards and boxes and drawers all full to the brim. So, I bit the bullet and pretty much halved what I had.

I was feeling pretty good about the whole situation. I didn’t miss any of it, and it meant that moving would be easier, and our new house wouldn’t be full of crap. A win win win situation! Then disaster struck. Jamie asked me to nip to the shop for some things for lunch, and on the way there I saw some people filling a skip. Sticking out of the top was a vintage suitcase. Now I am a sucker for vintage suitcases. Useful storage and pretty to boot. I smiled at the couple filling the skip, said good morning and rang to the shop. I thought to myself “If it’s still there on the way home I shall ask them, if not I haven’t missed out as I don’t need it!” I ran around the shop and rushed back to see the suitcase still in the skip. I gingerly asked the couple if they minded if I took the suitcase. The man replied ” Help yourself love, I’ve got all this to go in too, take what you want.” He stood aside and gestured behind him. My eyes nearly popped out of my head. I ran home with the shopping and the suitcase, threw them at an unsuspecting Jamie, mumbled something about getting more stuff, and ran back out of the door. There was no way I was missing out on this treasure!

So, what did I get?

WP_20140523_001

 

Here is the suitcase, my plan is to put legs on it and turn it into a coffee table. At the moment it is the new home for all of my yarn. I’ve slipped some dried lavender in there to keep it smelling delicious!

WP_20140523_003

Then there is this clock. I don’t know why I was drawn to it, I like it’s retro style. It’s fairly difficult to photograph as it’s clear

WP_20140523_005

And this little waste paper bin, which is pretty cute,

WP_20140523_008

But this is what I saw that made my eyes pop out

WP_20140523_009

It was locked so I got Jamie to pick the lock and I couldn’t believe it, not only was it in good condition, but it actually WORKED

WP_20140523_011

WP_20140523_012

WP_20140523_015

I’ve always dreamed of owning one of these hand crank Singers, but never thought I would be able to afford one. I just couldn’t believe my luck! It even has all the feet. I tested it out on a scrap piece of cloth and it worked more smoothly than my 2 year old electric one! I emailed Singer and gave them the serial number, asking if they had a manual for it. Not only did they email me a full manual, but they informed me that my machine was made on February 2nd 1927! I’m amazed they managed to pin point it to an exact date! As she now has a birthday, she also has a name, Tallulah.

Even though it was a bit of a fail really after managing to clear out so much stuff, I wonder if anyone in their right mind could genuinely have left all of this treasure to go to landfill?! Surely that would have been a crime, and as I stopped that from happening, that makes me like some sort of Batman for crimes against awesome vintage finds right? Right?

 

15 thoughts on “Freegan Treasure – what a find!

  1. What an amazing find. I follow Bonnie Hunter’s blog Quiltville and she is always buying vintage machines at knock down prices. However, this beats all of those at $0! Good luck with the house buying. Always stressful.

  2. Yep, you are the bat woman of landfill rescue! Don’t feel guilty at all. The machine will purr with pleasure at finding a new owner that will love it. I’m with you all the way on this one. I cannot believe how much good stuff people mindlessly throw away. So many others could make good use of the stuff. Big pat on the back!!

  3. wow – that sewing machine is a treasure – wish I could find great things like that! They are all practical and useful, so you shouldn’t fret over it.

Leave a Reply

